I’m not a morning person

It’s been quite awhile since I’ve jumped out of bed in the morning ready to start the day.  More typically someone is literally pulling me out of bed and shoving me toward my duties of the day.  But something in the beautiful Vancouver air has me waking up early and happy this past week.  So this morning not knowing what to do with the early hours (who knew 8 o’clock came twice a day!)  I decided to stretch upon waking.  It started out ok… not great, but I was upbeat and determined.  My body however was just not interested.  It took me twice as long to get my body awake and moving and it didn’t feel nearly as comfortable as the last couple days have felt.  Maybe I’m just a night owl, stretching included.  I think I’ll try it again tomorrow, but this time outside.  I’m hoping the sun will do all the warming up for me!

 

 

2 thoughts on “I’m not a morning person

  1. Heya, found your blog via CU 🙂

    I’m also not a morning person, but even aside from that, I find there is definitely a difference in flexibility across the day. Turns out most people are most flexible in the afternoon or evening, it’s not just us! I’d give you a reference for that but I honestly can’t remember where I read it, it was a long time ago.

    My thought is, that since improving flexibility is basically about convincing your body it’s safe to be in the more stretched positions, that you are better off stretching at your most flexible time of day, as you’ll get better results for the same time put in. If you stretch when your body doesn’t seem to want to, you’re reinforcing the body’s knowledge of the lower range of motion.

    I look forward to seeing how you get on with the rest of your month 🙂

Leave a Reply

