Drowning in data

 

The amount of information out there is overwhelming.  I feel like I’ve been reading about healthy eating for weeks and have very few conclusive results.  Every time I read an article that I start to believe, it takes me about one google search to find 5 contradicting articles. Even when looking at the sources, how can you tell what’s the truth out there anymore?

For example, you might wander upon this site when wondering if dairy is at the cause of your allergies and asthma:

http://www.naturalnews.com/010443_cows_milk_asthma.html

and then you see this:

http://saveourbones.com/osteoporosis-milk-myth/

but then this:

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/22349307/ns/health-diet_and_nutrition/t/does-milk-really-do-body-good/#.UEY11I0gqSo

 

You can find equal arguments throwing around the same scientific studies each proving whatever the article is promoting.  Ugh, it’s just so frustrating.  So maybe read more books, or go speak with a nutritionist?  Done that, and I’ve found both of these on opposite sides of the spectrum too.

 

So where does that leave me?  Confused, annoyed, and just wanting someone to have all the right answers?  Excuse me while I go throw a minor temper tantrum.

 

 

 

Ok back to being an adult.  I guess if no one can just tell me what is best for the human body, I’ll have to figure out what works best for my body.  It will be much more long-term than someone just giving me the answers, but at least it will be conclusive in my own mind.

 

I did find some great resources online this month that I would like to share:

http://www.snack-girl.com/  has an amazing resource of great, healthy, usually easy snacks.  Plus she is fun to read 🙂

http://eatawesome.ca/  has a really cheap ebook, with mouth-watering pictures.  This is more for meals though.

http://www.wholeliving.com/145336/recipes   They have recipe after recipe for everything from snacks to full meals

 

What did I learn?

Overall this month was very helpful, even though this last week left me feeling overwhelmed and drowning in information/ misinformation.  I guess I got a little carried away anyway.  The point of the month was to improve eating and snacking on the road and I got a bit bogged down with what was the best of the best of the best way to eat.   I’ve got to take a step back, try different things and see how they work for me.  I know that planning ahead is key for snacking on the go, and for healthy meals at home too.  I now have a huge list of snack food ideas, and also foods that mix and match together so I don’t have to waste a bunch of food at the end.  So I would say mission accomplished!  I’ll probably go back to food based challenges, but not for September!  For September I am learning…

 

JAPANESE

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

