Bring back the penpals!

I was going through some of my old stuff and I found all my old penpal letters! I had three penpals from Japan, one from Germany and a couple from elsewhere in the States.  We wrote to each other pretty consistently from Middle school through the end of High School.  There is nothing quite like getting a letter in the mail, especially when you’re little and especially when it’s from what might was well be another world.

What a comical story indeed!

Guess I should have tried harder to learn back then!

What I remember the most was how much I loved the stationary they wrote on and how they always sent little presents and pictures along  with their letters.  Going through the letters, I wish I would have used more of the presents sent.  The 12 year old me probably would have gotten a lot more use out of hello kitty stickers… but maybe not 😉

That brought to light a weird habit I have.  When I like something I want to save it forever and never use it.  Even though sometimes they are things that are only useful when used: like pens, notebooks, candles or soap.  I end up having twice the stuff… one set to use and one set to keep enshrined.  It wouldn’t bother me so much, if the idea of using those things up didn’t freeze me up so much.  Sounds like another project/ challenge to add to the pile 🙂

 

I don’t think it’s a coincidence that our letter writing stopped around the time the internet starting clearly taking over as a means of communication.  I remember we exchanged emails for a few more years, with the time between letters growing and growing as we all got busy with our new lives post-high school.  There is something special about a getting a letter or a postcard that I don’t think the internet can ever compete with.  I wonder if kids still write penpal letters through the mail anymore, or if that died off completely…I really hope they do.  Besides how great getting a letter in the mail was, it gave me a window into what other cultures were like.  It made me want to see the whole world for myself, and taught me no matter how different cultures can be, people really aren’t.

 

I also found the letter with all the corrected Japanese!

Leave a Reply

