how do you say “om nom nom” in Japanese?

Food in Japan is on another level. I don’t think I ate anything I normally eat at home, but I never once missed western food. Well, I did slightly panic when I found out that I was supposed to eat the crab in the middle of the picture below:

lilcrab

I found the tastes, quantities, and presentation perfect for myself and my well being. One of the foods that surprised me the most was the rice. I am not a rice fan, I usually avoid eating it and almost never make it. So of course at first I was a little nervous of what I would eat over there. Then I tried Japanese rice.

2005_12_20-rice-cooker

I think I ate rice at every meal and a rice ball for every snack. In fact my favorite thing to make in the mornings was avocado rice balls which where just: rice and avocado wrapped in seaweed. I took a few pictures, but they were so messy looking I can’t post them and maintain any self respect. Messy or not… they were delicious 🙂 We would also buy these togo rice balls often… and by often I mean almost everyday.

711

rice balls should be mandatory in all 7-11’s

Besides how great they tasted, they were filling, convenient, and reasonably healthy compared to what you can come out of a US 7-11 with. And maybe that’s what I loved most about the food in Japan, I always felt good after eating. I don’t have any allergies to any food that I know of, but it’s not uncommon for me to feel, “uncomfortable” after a meal even when I haven’t eaten a crazy amount. But with the food I was eating in Japan, even when I ate A LOT, I never had that same bloated/ upset stomach feeling. WHICH WAS AWESOME… and so was endless sushi:

SOMUCHSUSHI

Even at the festivals we always received a bento box for the day that would contain rice balls with different fish inside and sometimes inari (rice in a sweet bean curd) or tomago (egg). You may think bento boxes are just for kids, but they make amazing meals on the go for any age. I think they could convince anyone to eat their veggies.

20081210-yoshi-pica-bento calvin-and-hobbes-bento-box

matbento mushbento

Actually Bento seems popular for all age groups and served in restaurants as well as a way to prepare a meal togo. I love them, they are like mini buffet meals. I always want to taste little bits of lots of different things and bento makes that possible!

adultbento

Japan made it so easy to eat healthy on the go, compared with my attempt in August. If I had done that same trial in Japan it would have been a walk in the park! Where I could have coincidentally bought a baked sweet potato 🙂

baked potatoes hand cart1

One last note… Royal Caribbean… this is NOT sushi:

RCCL sushi

To which Royal would probably respond, ” but it is free.”

One thought on “how do you say “om nom nom” in Japanese?

  1. Pingback: Rainy Day Project | またね 日本! See you later Japan!

Leave a Reply

