Slow cooker chicken soup

6a00d8358081ff69e2019b0056c793970b-800wi(picture from www.abeautifulmess.com a really cool blog that’s filled with tasty recipe ideas and so much more!)

I love soup.

I’m pretty sure I could eat soups for every meal and not get tired of it, especially during winter.  There is something about a hearty soup in the winter that warms you up better than anything else, while simultaneously filling the house with a delicious aroma.  In fact I think the only thing better than homemade soup is homemade soup that cooks itself.  That notion was my inspiration for a slow cooker chicken soup.  If you’ve never used a slow cooker before, you’re missing out!  These babies are like having a 1950’s housewife doing all your cooking while you are busy with far more important tasks like playing video games, watching movies, or maybe even working.

Another thing about slower cooker meals… it seems like you can just throw anything into this machine and it turns out brilliantly!  Now that’s probably not exactly true, but this is the first time I threw caution to the wind and made up my own recipe!  That usually freaks me out way to much, but I have so much trust in my slow cooker and in soup in general I decided to give it a try.

So here’s MY recipe for slow cooker chicken soup!!  Warning: I like hearty soups with lots of veggies and lots of flavour!

INGREDIENTS

8 cups water or chicken stock or broth

2 carrots, sliced

2 ribs of celery, sliced

1 yellow onion, chopped

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 cup wild or brown rice

2 bay leaves

1 teaspoon dried thyme

salt and pepper to taste (I used about a teaspoon of each)

2 lb. of chicken*

chopped fresh parsley (optional, I had some on hand so I used it)

*I used chicken thighs, but you can use breasts or even a whole roasting chicken if you don’t mind deboning it at the end.

DIRECTIONS:

1.) In a large slow cooker (mine is 6 quarts) combine the carrots, celery, onions, garlic, spices and rice.

2.) Pour the broth over the mixture.

3.) Lay the chicken on top

4.) Put the cover on the slow cooker and cook on low for 7 hours or on high for 5.  I put it on high and it was easily done in 5 hours… but be sure to check your chicken if you are in a rush!  If you are using a whole roasting chicken you will need to take it out and debone it and place the meat back into the soup.  The meat will literally fall off the bone so it isn’t that hard, and using a whole chicken does add to the flavour!

5.) SERVE AND ENJOY YOUR SOUP!  Add more salt, pepper or thyme if needed and finish each serving with a sprinkle of fresh chopped parsley (optional).

I didn’t even have time to take a picture of the finished soup because we ate it so fast!  This is a picture of the soup before cooking, it still look delicious to me:)

chx soup

This recipe didn’t use a lot of spices, but it sure hit the spot.  I had a little helper this time too:

foxy

So now I can knock bay leaves and thyme off my list, only 12 spices to go!

Leave a Reply

