Bread winner

url

Baking bread doesn’t require any spices, but I mentioned homemade bread in my last post and I just wanted to elaborate!  I have failed way too many times while trying to make bread.  Usually it results in a dense and under-cooked loaf… that we end up eating anyway.  But recently I tried a new technique that made baking bread as easy as running to the store to buy more.

Here is the post that I followed from Jezebel’s site.  It’s super descriptive and full of helpful pictures.  It basically is the same method outlined in the book, “Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day”.

088

You simply add the ingredients together (flour, water, yeast and salt), then let it hang out in the fridge until you want to bake some bread.  When that time comes you are at T-30 from fresh tasty bread.  The flavour gets more tangy and delicious the longer it’s in the fridge.  The hardest part about the whole process was finding a container large enough to store the dough in the fridge.

Here was my first loaf, with my favourite helper!  Now I just need to find mitts in his size 🙂

breadfox

bread

I bet in the future this will be an great way to use a couple extra spices!

Leave a Reply

