April’s DIY box and March’s reviews :)

First out with the old, my march DIY makeup box contained:

march diy boxMarch Reviews:

Adidas aluminum free deo:

First of all I did actually find it for sale at a Rexall (Canadian drugstore) for about $4 or so.  Deodorants without aluminum are hard to come by.  I was happy to try this for the month and it lead to interesting results.  First, I did need to reapply it at least twice a day whereas I never need to reapply my regular antiperspirant deodorant.  That isn’t that big a deal, but I found it wasn’t quite up to the task of lasting through my workout/training.  What I found really interesting is that I think I smelled better even while sweating after a month of not using my regular deodorant.  I’m really interested to try another non aluminum deodorant and see if that pattern continues.  However for everyone’s sake I will probably use regular deodorant when doing shows 🙂

Fat Hair “0″ Calorie Amplifying Mousse:

I started the month using this a lot.  I think it probably does add some volume in the way hairspray can add volume.  It was great to use especially if I was going to wear my hair down.  However I often shower at night and/or wear my hair up for training and in those cases it didn’t seem to make a difference.

CeraVe moisturizing lotion:

This is a great catch-all lotion.  It’s a little light for the dry winter we’ve been having, but in general it’s a great body lotion.

Urban Decay Vitamin Infused Prep Spray – I think that’s a fancy title for primer

I didn’t really like this one, it seemed to burn my face when I would spritz it on.  I guess that could all those vitamins… but more likely it’s alcohol.  I definitely will be tossing the sample and not purchasing.

Natural House Body Brush – How do you use this, why do I have one… Who knows!

So apparently you use this brush to brush off the dry skin before you shower. The list of potential benefits is a little mind boggling though.  I didn’t notice any actual scientific studies to back up these claims, but it was nice feeling.  I will probably keep this one up for a little longer at least.

LUSH mint julips lip scrub:

I do really like this lip scrub, however I don’t think it’s that great for my lips.  Since it’s just flavoured sugar I tend to lick my lips a lot after putting it on, which is one of the main reasons that lips dry up.  Even if I wanted to keep using it, I wouldn’t buy it again because as I stated before it’s literally sugar with flavouring.  Here’s a link to making your own lip scrub if you ever want to try it.  Hmmm after reading that link, apparently you aren’t supposed to lip it off at all, I guess I’ll have to try that lip scrub myself!

Burt’s Bees almond milk hand creme

This creme is greasy, hard to get at, but works quite well.  I found it best to put it on right before bed.

Sephora lemon creamy body wash

This was just an average body wash, nothing that spectacular.  The scent wasn’t overpowering, but also was barely there.  I will not buy it again.

Ultra repair cream by First Aid Beauty:

This cream surprised me the most.  It’s a light cream that really sunk into my hands and feet and helped a bunch of cracks in my poor, dry hands.  It was non-greasy though too.  I liked the Burt’s Bee’s cream, but you basically have to only use it at night it’s so greasy.  This cream I could use and then open jars!  I tried a lot of lotions this month and I learned that there is no magic lotion to completely heal your hands overnight once you’ve let them get so dry, same this for lips.  I never really had patience to keep using lotion or lip balm daily, I always treated it as a one time fix when my hands were dry.  I started putting on lotion each night before bed and it made a huge difference!

 

…and now, in with the NEW!

April’s DIY Make up box

april box

 

The Health Deodorant – I bought this around the same time I got the adidas deo… when I get excited about an idea sometimes I enjoy the buying part more than the trying part.

New beginnings scrub – I got this as part of a package awhile ago… never quite got around to using it.

Sephora blotting papers – Another freebie that I never have used.

Kiehl’s ultimate strength hand salve – It’s been such a long, dry winter I was looking for anything to fix my hands.  I ended up only getting a sample because the lotion was $18!  Now that I’ve used up the Ultra repair cream by First Aid Beauty I am interested to see if it works as well.

Smith’s rosebud salve – In one of my many. many fits of severely chapped lips I bought this on a whim.  I’m interested to see if it’s better than the sugar brand because I would rather not spend $30 on chapstick.

Smashbox candid lip gloss – I can already tell I don’t like this one, yet I am having trouble throwing it away 😦

Buxom lash mascara – another freebie, but I need a new mascara for shows this year.

Smashbox eye shawdow trio – I bought this to replace my old show make up, but again haven’t used it yet… I feel like there is a pattern starting.

Watt’s up! – an eye shadow highlighter .

Stay don’t stray – eye shadow primer.

Again I picked a lot of things this month, but the 4 of them are specifically for shows (mascara, eye shadow, primer and highlighter)  I really, really wanted to buy new makeup, but instead I went “shopping” in my old make up and I’m glad I did.  I pretty much had everything I needed already anyway.  So yay I guess, but also shame on me for hoarding so much stuff I can’t even remember what I have.

shame-600x320

Shame on you make up hoarding polar bear!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

