constant failure

 

 

baby-eating-cake

Who me?  No, I didn’t have any cake, nope not me

I’m not sure I have ever failed quite this bad and consistently at a project yet.

Since I am failing so bad, and this is a self-imposed project I decided to re-examine what I am doing and what my goal is.  I started this month with the idea that I wouldn’t have any sugar for the month.  However I clearly am not dealing well with cutting it out completely.  I’m not sure why, but I think I am eating and craving even more sugar than before simply because I feel like I can’t have it.  I’ve never done great with deprivation diets so I guess this shouldn’t come as a surprise.  But it is disappointing 😦

Not one to allow failure to get the best of me I have decided to start again, this time with the basics:  How much sugar is healthy?

According to the American Heart Association women should have no more than 25 grams of sugar per day which is equal to 6 teaspoons.  For men it is no more than 37.5 grams or 9 teaspoons per day.  There is no suggested amount of added sugars in one’s diet.

How much is average?

The average adult consumes 22 teaspoons of sugar a day, and the average child consumes 32!! (That’s 92g and 133g respectively)

sugar-spoons

How much am I consuming?

I averaged around 15 grams (4 tsp), which doesn’t seem horrible, but it was mainly all from breakdowns at the end of the day.

15 grams might not seem that bad, but what spurred the project is the strength of my cravings and the consistency in their behaviour.  I crave sweets consistently for the following reasons:

  • they are around
  • after dinner
  • when I complete hard tasks
  • when I am bored
  • apparently when I decide not to eat sugar

Another reason I wanted to do this project is that I feel awful after I eat sugar.  I feel physically bad (headache and trouble sleeping) and mentally bad because I know better.  However this knowledge never seems to help me when those cravings hit.

So I’m starting this project over, but armed with more information about my self and when to be on my guard.  I am going to mainly try a bait and switch technique whenever I crave sweets.  Hopefully doing something else instead of just trying to ignore them will work better.

drink tea or water

brush your teeth right after eating

move around more

take a bath

start a small project

get off the computer

read

write!

clean or organize something

I’ll start with those and see how this week goes!  

 

A little more about sugar:

nursing-your-sweet-tooth4

 

7 thoughts on “constant failure

  1. Hi Kimmie! Funny, I decided to reduce as much added sugar as I can at about the same time as you. I am finding this not too hard since I still have lots of fruit. My suggestion is a cut back for you rather than total abstinence… your body is probably going through withdrawal! It takes a while to curb those cravings! Have you tried a small piece of dark chocolate after dinner? It does have sugar but not that much and is so satisfying!

  2. Loved your post! We are trying to cut out as much sugar as possible….well, I should say my 3 yr old and myself…the rest of the family is freaking out. But the 3 year old is a tough one to parent even with out sugar….add sugar and I want to run away. I am blogging our progress mostly so I can keep track of what we have done, where we have been and what we might try next on this journey through the sugar loaded landmine world we live in.

    • Good luck, sound like you have your work cut out for you!! Hopefully it will get easier as you go. I did really like your friend’s quote: “We all know sugar is bad for us but are all too tired from the sugar to fight it.” It’s perfect!

  3. Are you talking about refined, white sugar? Or are you trying to cut all sugar out, including natural sugar…like fruit? It has helped me to cut out refined sugar before to eat more natural sugar…sweet fruits. Like peaches and grapes. Freeze the grapes and then eat them! So good! You could also try using honey or natural sugar substitute like Stevia.

Leave a Reply

