The myth of multitasking

Inext_p_lsoc_1multitaskingw

I don’t think I can even count the number of times my dad told me not to watch TV and do homework.  I did it anyway, as often as I could get away with it.  Then when I moved away from home, I could do it all the time!  Now it’s hard for me to get to work without something going on the in background, but I am noticing more and more how much it really does take my focus away.

There is just something really comforting to me about having sounds in the background while I am working.  Music works better than TV (in terms of staying focused), but that can still distract me more than I would like.  In fact there is some research that suggests multitasking can actually make you 40% slower at completing a task!

So this month I would like to look for ways to cut out the multitasking in my life.  I have a feeling I am not actually gaining anytime by multitasking, but since it’s so comfortable for me I have had a hard time changing this habit.  I’m going to start with focusing on my work habits, but I am sure multitasking bleeds into all corners of my daily life.

Also in the spirit of not multitasking I am only setting one goal for this month… and hopefully for now forward!

 

4509c07790e349f5e5b1a48cfa461451

Leave a Reply

