Hey there, remember me?

IMG_8990

So it’s been quite awhile since I’ve written anything here.  Summer, as always, got super busy and I decided for once to really just live in the moment (that sounds so cliché) and not do any projects.  I always hoped that as an adult I would one day happen upon a perfect formula of keeping up on long term planning, short term planning and living in the moment all at the same time.  I’m beginning to realize that it’s usually a messy mosaic of doing what suits your life at the moment.  So this summer instead of training and planning for every moment I decided to spend as much time as possible hang out with friends and it was worth every second.

But as summer faded away I felt that project urge bitting once again 🙂 My latest project and obsession is organizing my house and belongings using the KonMari method.  I love organizing, love it.  I’ve read dozens of books about it, get really excited about new organizing products and have organized my own stuff countless of times… for fun!  Now I know it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but whether you like organizing, or if you just need to organize, this book/ method is the best one I’ve encountered.

51H8x07Fd7L._SX351_BO1,204,203,200_

This book is the first one I’ve read that really has some new ideas (including some that seem crazy) and doesn’t just rehash the same old organizing ideas you find in every magazine.

StorageMagazine

If you had no idea that there were whole magazines dedicated to storage and organizing… welcome to heaven.

Most of the book is spent explaining the process and stories of her former clients.  She does actually claim that if you go through the whole process correctly and completely you will never have to organize again.  That seems like quite the claim, but I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

Toward the last third of the book she explains why organizing has the power to really change people’s lives.  She did a great job of explaining something that I have felt with organizing but never put into words.  Basically by going through your stuff and keeping only the items that give you joy and pleasure you really answer some key questions about yourself.  What do you value, what do you love, what are your passions?  These are key questions that a lot of people struggle with.  Even if you know the answers it’s amazing how your belongings don’t always reflect those answers.  As she says in the book:

“In essence, tidying ought to be the act of restoring balance among people, their possessions, and the house they live in.”

and now… on to the method! Of course this is a simplified version of what she suggests, but it’s the key points. 

First, you gather the items

She suggests you go through items by category instead of organizing by room or area.  I’ve always done the opposite, organizing a specific area like a closet or a storage area.  I have to concede i really like her method better.  It helps you get a better picture of how much of the item you have spread throughout the house.

IMG_7242

turns out I do have a lot of shoes!

Second, you get rid of some of those items

She has a very specific (and in my opinion very Japanese) way of discarding items.  This part is always the hardest part for anyone organizing.  I mean if it were easy to throw your things away, no one would need help organizing!  But of course people get attached to their possessions, this is why she suggests talking to them…yes I’m serious.  With each item you pick up you should ask yourself if this item sparks joy in you.  If the answer is no, than it is time to discard it.  You can’t think along the lines of, “but what if I need it”  or “ it was so expensive!”.  Now you take the item and you thank it for it’s use and for whatever lesson it taught you.  Maybe you learned that you really don’t like wearing 4 inch heels so matter how cute they look, or that orange isn’t your colour after all. Thank these items and send them on their way to mangle someone else feet. Donate what you can, but bag them up right away and don’t go back through that bag!

1299-G-by-Guess-Villa-Orange-Fabric-Shoes-for-Women-4

My eyes miss you, but my feet sure don’t

While I felt silly at first talking to my possessions, I was surprised how much it helped to just thank them for their service and say goodbye.  When it’s hard to let go of something it’s usually for one of two reasons: attachment to the past or fear of the future.  Sometimes the items confronts you with a poor choice you made.  Acknowledging that poor choice and letting the item go does a lot for your psyche.  In fact as you go through the list, letting go of things gets easier and you can feel the weight of all these items lifting off your shoulders.  One last important fact of letting go: don’t focus on the idea of getting rid of things, focus on choosing the items that you love and spark joy in you. Changing this mindset is really critical to letting things go.

Third, you find home for the kept items

Now that you are left with the items that excite and inspire you, put them back in their “home”.  For most things you already know where that is, they just couldn’t all fit there before.  She actually has very little in the book dedicated to the storage part, no fancy storage contraptions, no magical suggestions.  It’s quite simple, when you have less stuff there is less stuff you have to store.  She also believes that simple storage solutions are much better, no need to think up complicated storing strategies.  It’s the Occam’s razor theory of storage solutions.  One other major point she she believes you should keep all of the same item in the same place, especially for storage.  

Last, repeat for all your items!

She suggests doing this process for your items in a very specific order.  Here is a very detailed checklist I found online.  It’s the one I have been using and i really like it.  Over time she has found this order to be the easiest for her clients to follow.  She says it goes from easiest to hardest to get rid of.  For me clothes are always really hard so I bet the list is somewhat subjective, but I am following her method, so I will follow her list!

konmari-checklist-300x383

you can get it here

One final rule, don’t discard other people’s items.  Even if you know they won’t miss it, it’s just not a good idea.  If you are trying to inspire other people to organize and get rid of their things, try to remember the following:  

1.) You can’t change other people and trying to do so will usually result in the opposite of what you are hoping for.

2.) Often once you start successfully organizing your stuff and living in the dreamland of simplified possessions, other people living with you will be more inclined to follow suit.

magical closets

seriously, who wouldn’t covet these closets?!?!

I’m going to be tackling this list over the next month or two, and I really curious if it will help me simplify my belongings.

Leave a Reply

